You Want Me To Do What???

You want me to code? 

In ECMP 355 we recently learnt about coding. Now when I think about coding I think about the work that the Software Developing Engineers I know do. When I heard I was expected to code I was terrified! I was thinking that I am not tech savvy, I am never going to be able to do this, and how in the world will this be useful in the classroom?!?

However, throughout the session and my further research, I have learnt that there are many practical ways to engage students with the use of coding.

Espresso

For my tech task I explored the EspressoCoding site that Dean had told us about. I was nervous as I logged on but I really enjoyed how user-friendly, even kid-friendly that it was! It was simple to figure out and even fun to play around with! I found myself making up stories in my head as I used codes to make the characters move around.

Here is a screen shot of what I was working on:

Image

I could see students using this program in the classroom to tell or re-tell stories! I was very pleasantly surprised with this program and would definitely use it in my classroom!

What did you think of Espresso?

3 thoughts on “You Want Me To Do What???

Leave a Reply

