Fidgets In My Opinion

In my epsy217 class we are focussing a lot on sensory regulation and learning the benefit of Fidgets. Every week we get to pick from the bag, one fidget to play with for the 3 hours class. I have always been someone who struggles with sitting still for long periods of time. I often find myself bouncing my leg, biting my nails, chewing on a pen, “fidgeting” in some sort or form. There are many different types of fidgets available.

From pull apart bracelets to squishy stress balls there are lots to choose from. What worked best for me were things that were malleable that I could use both hands to mild and move. These included the sticky tac, and glitter play dough. I also enjoyed the elastic band with square blocks on it that you could use to make different shapes. However, this fidget took up more of my attention than the malleable substances.

I see the many benefits of fidgets. “They help keep restless fingers busy, bodies relaxed, and minds focused.” Some students just cannot focus without something in their hands. I definitely plan on introducing fidgets into my classroom to students who need them.  However, I have many further questions, such as:  how to introduce them to a class, do you give them only to students you decide need them,  and how to know when a student is fidgeting and paying attention, or fidgeting because they are bored or off task.

If you are interested in the use of fidgets in the classroom, check out this website:

http://www.friendshipcircle.org/blog/2011/10/31/fidgets-what-are-they-and-how-can-they-help/

Throughout this class I hope to learn more about the use of fidgets. Now I ask you, what do you do to keep concentration when sitting in class, and what is your opinion on fidgets?

Comment below! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Fidgets In My Opinion

  1. I think fidgets can be very beneficial. What is important is that we educate our students on appropriate use and the entire class on acceptance of these very handy tools. When the classroom teacher does his or her work ahead of time in explaining why the tool is allowed, when it is allowed, and the other necessary rules, it can be very helpful. The one thing I have noted is that without pre-teaching, other students become jealious or fixated on the fidget.

    Tracy, Principal of La Verendrye School

    • Thanks for your input! That helps a lot! I agree that pre-teaching is very important rather than just introducing them out of the blue! In my internship we had a rocking chair added for one student and the other students had a hard time understanding why that student received one and they did not. I think this can be avoided by that pre-teaching. Different kids need different things in order to succeed and it is important for our students to understand this. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fidgets! | My Educational Journey

    • Thanks for your feedback and response! I think that they are a fantastic thing to have in your classroom for the students who need them, and that the most important part, as Tracy noted is the pre-teaching so students understand how, why and when they are to be used. I have always known these things exist but have learnt a lot more about them recently, in EPSY217.I know people all have different opinions on the use of fidgets- some agree with having them, and some don’t. I have enjoyed learning how movement activities, fidgets, and breathing activities can help students stay regulated and calm in the classroom.

  3. As a student I think that I personally would have benefited a ton from fidgets considering how much I played with things like pens, pencils, and other things in class. As an adult learner I have actually began taking fidgets to university class so that I can pay attention. I can only imagine the amount of success I would of had in high school if I could have had fidgets in class. As both a student and a teacher I can see the benefit of them in our classrooms.

  4. Great post Chelsea. I think that as long as you have enough fidgets, you can have all your students try them out to see if it helps them focus better. It could be taught in correspondence to health, especially in relieving stress. I also like what the web page said on how students need to know that it’s important to differentiate between a “fidget” and a “distractor.”

Leave a Reply

